FRANCE 2018 – no text and pictures provided from the group

Eight intrepid Venerables made the trip and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We were reduced in number this year through ‘retirements’, an unfortunate last minute sick note from one and more pressing prior anniversary arrangements from a few other regulars. Le Manoir as ever was welcoming with great food and ambience.


Things were made interesting with a large two day Ryder Cup style competition over two days between English and French ‘Golf Managers’ followed a day later by the arrival of 23 Belgian Ladies by coach. An interesting evening. Absent Friends were toasted in particular Jim, Wiktor, Peter Wildblood, Peter Hill and Paul Kidman. Jim and Wiktor were also toasted on the steps with a fine malt provided by Skipper Dave in recognition of their hospitality over the years with their provision of same. The new clubhouse now bedded in, is super with good food and friendly and welcoming staff.

We played the full length nine hole Le Manoir course on the Monday, Le Foret on the Tuesday, Hardelot Les Dunes on Wednesday and Le Foret again on the Thursday. All were in excellent condition.  Thanks to Peter Wildblood for organisation, Mervyn for competitions, Peter Howarth for wine (whip, choice and consumption), Alan Parkes for the photos and Captain Dave for being noisy. Also wine on the first night was generously provided by Tony Eggs in celebration of a new grandson.

A great European Tour yet again for all those present.


L to R:


Steve Truckle, Mervyn Cooke, John Charman, Peter Howarth, Dave Watts, Colin Edge,

Alan Parkes, and Tony Eggs.


The Golfers

Apres Golf


THOROUGHLY APPROPRIATE PRESENT – thanks to Merv beautifully wrapped by Anne

The Winners

Tuesday: Putting competition–Mervyn Cooke. La Foret–John Charman (above left) ocb 32 pts.

Wednesday: Les Dunes–first Colin Edge 34 pts and winner of the Bill Cook Memorial Trophy (below right).


Thursday: first Steve Truckle (above right) ocb 31 pts.

The Frog Trophy. First and winner of the Frog Trophy – Colin Edge 64.


Second Tony Eggs 63.    –      Third Dave Watts 62.